Ride 9 – Cycling for Cash

Date:   Thursday  30 March 2017  
Starting Point:
  Reston
Destination:  Tysons Corner
Mileage:  23 miles total
Posted by:  Dan

Goal?
The goal of this ride was to get to withdraw $40 from the ATM at work.

Who?
It was just me.

Riding Conditions?
It was cooler today.  It was in the 40’s with a little sun on the way in and then cloudy and in the 50’s on the way home.

What did I learn?
I counted 17 lanes of traffic on I-495 from the W&OD Trail Bridge that crosses the road also known as the Beltway.  That is way more than I would have thought.  I would not have noticed this if it had not been for the errandonnee challenge.

How did it turn out?
As a result of this ride, I have an extra 40 bucks on my person.  I am not too sure yet where I will spend it, but it is good to have some walking around money.

I also added a couple of other errands along the way.  I stopped for jet fuel (a Milky Way bar and a Gatorade) and to watch some little league “spring training” on the way home.

I am thinking that the ATM withdrawal counts as “personal business,” watching baseball practice counts as “Arts & Entertainment,”  and that the jet fuel stop counts as “Personal Care?”

I would have really liked to take tomorrow afternoon off of work and to bike downtown to the Nats Exhibition Game against the Boston Red Sox planned for Friday afternoon but the weatherman is saying that there is pretty much a 100% chance of rain.  So, I’m out.

Next up, I think that I am going to do a Slurpeeneuring Challenge with my kids this summer.  I don’t think this is a thing…  but I am going to make it a thing.

And, I will definitely do the Coffeeneuring Challenge in the Fall!

Before I go, I want to thank chasingmailboxes.com for creating this challenge as it has really been fun to complete.

Scoring?
Total Miles (so far):  107
Total Errands Completed: 15
Errand breakdown (by Category):
>Personal Care: 1 (Jet Fuel Stop)
>Personal Business: 2 (Scavenger Hunt Clean-Up, ATM)
>You carried WHAT on your bike (or back)?!: 2 (Chips for Anna + Groceries)
>Arts and Entertainment: 2 (Starbucks by Myself and Spring Training)
>Non-Store Errand: 1 (Post Office)
>Social Call: 1 (CAFIN w/ Becca and Sarah)
>Work or Volunteering, School: 2 (Commute to Work)
>Store:  2  (7-Eleven and Aldi)
>Wild Card: 2 (Scavenger Hunt Set Up and Rescue)

20170330_075933

The W&OD Trail Bridge over I-495.  How many lanes of traffic can you count?

20170330_181929

Jet Fuel

 

20170330_184156

Spring Training and Cherry Blossoms.

20170330_184247

More Cherry Blossoms

20170330_081208

Daffodils with Tulips.  Spring is coming.

 

 

Leave a Reply

