Ride 8 – Post Office/Coffee Run

Date:   Wednesday 29 March 2017  
Starting Point:
  Reston
Destination:  Tysons Corner
Mileage:  23 miles total
Posted by:  Dan

Goal?
The goal of this ride was to get to and from work, but I stopped at the post office to mail a letter and then at Starbucks on the way to rack up a couple more errands for the challenge.

Who?
It was just me.

Riding Conditions?
It was around 50 on the way in and then almost 70 on the way home.  That’s not too bad!  It is nice that the weather is getting warmer.

How did it turn out?
I found the Post Office in Vienna for the first time ever.  Even thought it was not far off my route, I never knew it was there.

I also stopped at a Starbucks in Falls Church that I have never visited before.  I ordered a large cup of Pike’s Place Roast black.  I drank a little while I surfed the internet and ate a Blueberry Crisp Cliff Bar.  Then I drank the rest of my water from my Camelbak water bottle so that I could fill it up with the rest of my coffee to drink later (which I did).   : )

I’m counting mailing the letter as a “non-store” errand and counting my coffee run in the “Arts and Entertainment” category.  I hope the judges agree with my categorization.  I think this brings my total number of errands up to 12.  My total mileage now exceeds 80 miles!  I have decided that I am going to try to break 100 miles during the challenge.  Stay tuned.

What did I learn?
I learned where the post office is located in Vienna, VA.  I also learned that you can get a passport at this Post Office.

I also noticed during the ride in that almost 100% of the joggers were female and almost 100% of the cyclists were male.

Scoring?
Total Miles (so far):  84
Total Errands Completed:  12
Errand breakdown (by Category):
>Personal Care: 0
>Personal Business: 1 (Scavenger Hunt Clean-Up)
>You carried WHAT on your bike (or back)?!: 2 (Chips for Anna + Groceries)
>Arts and Entertainment: 1 (Starbucks by Myself)
>Non-Store Errand: 1 (Post Office)
>Social Call: 1
>Work or Volunteering, School: 2 (Commute to Work)
>Store:  2  (7-Eleven and Aldi)
>Wild Card: 2 (Scavenger Hunt Set Up and Rescue)

20170329_07255720170329_07291820170329_07300020170329_07593820170329_17421020170329_180654

Leave a Reply

